Bookmaking Workshop

Reflection by Jaquay Dee-Hardmon

I attended a bookmaking workshop this past Thursday on Pace’s campus, and the instructor made it clear that trash can be valuable.

At first, I thought,

What is the use of things that have already been thrown away?
And what does this have to do with bookmaking?

She went on to say the books she makes are hand made. Things that are made by hand can be worth so much more. All the materials we used were things she picked up from the street and recycled resources. The materials consisted of cardboard, buttons, ribbons, stickers, recycled paper, crayons, glue sticks, magazines, scissors, little trinkets, rubber bands, fake plants, yard and beads. We then were instructed to pick out things that we wanted to be a part of our book. The purpose was to think about what we wanted our book to portray.

With the recycled paper, we had to cut out words that stood out most to us. I cut out words like family, poetry, and excellence. These words pertain to my life. I try to strive for excellence with the support of my family and the use of words are important to me because I write poetry. I used yarn, stickers, dried plants and pictures. My objective was to have my book represent who I am as a person.

As we were working we had a time limit on each part of the book we were working. The purpose behind this was not to spend too much time dwelling on decisions which would consist of taking too much time on one thing.

This whole experience helped see things differently as far as bookmaking in general. My expectations with this experience was to put together a hard a cover with pages to go inside. I was expecting my book to look as standard as they come.

However, I was impressed at what I came up with in a short period of time. This workshop brought out my creative side, and allowed me to see a book can be however you want it to be.

This experience helped me step away from thinking about stressful things that come with being in school and enjoy creating. I can honestly say this experience calmed me down and put me in a good mood. It was suggested that it makes someone feel good knowing that you made something for them. However, it feels even better when you make something for yourself.

Leave a Reply

